Student Visa Streams


Australian student visa subclass 500, although collectively called student visa,  may be further classified into six different streams, depending on the applicant’s level of study.

The following are the six student visa streams.

Independent ELICOS For English course only
School sector For primary and secondary high schools
Non degree sector Foundation program
Vocational Education For TAFE certificate IV diploma programs
Higher Education For Bachelor degree or master degree by coursework
Higher degree by research For Master degree by research and PhD

When you apply for a student visa, there is no need for you to choose a stream of your visa. The Department of Home Affairs will allocate a correct stream or level to your visa.